Just a minute to squeeze this in..., Uncategorized

Alike as Chalk and Cheese

When the aircraft took off and I looked below at the several buildings and offices and houses reduced to but a few dots, I felt strange. Each dot was a house, a home, a school, a hospital, a bank, an office, a church, a something! Millions of people were down there…each of them unique…each of them with a dream of his/her own…each of them looking up at the sky to see another dot whiz past them…a dot that carried within it a few hundred people with their own dreams and aspirations…No matter how our lives converge, we all have distinctive experiences, distinctive schedules and distinctive stories that led up to that point of convergence! And the magnitude of this realization is much bigger than it sounds. This was a while back…

Fast forward to today when I read Melissa’s blog at Ever Growing Farm (evergrowingfarm.com) Β and found myself thinking again about ‘different people, different lives’. Melissa owns a farm and the blog is a wonderful account of her everyday chores, her love for chicken eggs and goats and turkeys and the million little moments that are a part of her beautiful life. Reading her articles, I couldn’t help but wonder how different our lives were. She was miles away from me, in a farm, tending to her animals and dreaming of the several additions she can make. And here I am, working in labs looking under the microscope in the hope of finding something new, something unexpected. While her routine revolves around tending to her garden, feeding her chicken and turkey and goats, looking after her toddler and planning what to plant in her garden, my routine revolves around a couple of hours of yoga, a hot mug of green tea in the morning, writing my diary, attending talks by great scientists and planning my next set of experiments! Just as I have never even known of a life where someone is welcomed by goats and chicken after a hard day at work, she may have never thought of what it is like spending hours reading research articles and designing experiments! Yet, we are two satisfied individuals who love their lives…and also get a glimpse at the other’s through our posts.

Today, I found a new motivation to keep writing. Because some day someone will go through my posts and imagine themselves in my shoes and probably find it interesting. Maybe Melissa will find her way here and wonder how different her life is from mine…and how she would much prefer to stick to her own!

Maybe that’s what blogging is all about…and it took me over 20 posts to figure that out!!!

8 thoughts on “Alike as Chalk and Cheese”

  1. πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘. Good one. It would be indeed very good if one takes a pause to think about another person’s life. Mumbaikars seem to not even have the time & energy to think about their own lives.
    KSR

    Like

  2. Well good morning to you from Australia! I’m reading your blog, I found it on the comments on Melissa’s blog! India is THE one country I dearly would love to see! One day. Now I’m a mum, I stay home and care for my kids while my partner works…and dream of us moving to a farm πŸ™‚

    I’m enjoying reading your blog! You write well and your English is excellent! Keep writing and sharing the windows into your world πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Hi… Thanks for all those beautiful things you said… Nice to meet you here… I’m still relatively new to blogging but I’m loving it! Meeting people like you makes it exciting. And India is an amazing country. I had the lovely opportunity of growing up in different parts of India and I’ve lived every bit. If you do come to this side of the world, drop me a line and I would love to show you some of what I’ve discovered in this country πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

