Thoughtful..., Uncategorized

Chupke Chupke

I’ve spent the past couple of hours listening to a ghazal in loop – Ghulam Ali Khan’s Chupke Chupke! If you are unfamiliar with ghazals, maybe you should read this poem by Dajena. She as written a beautiful one in English.

I am only used to reading ghazals in Urdu and the way Urdu touches my heart, no other language can. And the poetry in Chupke Chupke is sheer genius. I must have heard this ghazal being sung by Ghulam Ali Khan sahab (sir, in Urdu) a million times but I am still as amazed by his poetry as I was the first time I heard it. Ghazals are often sung in notes from classical Hindustani music and the music only adds to its persona.

In Chupke Chupke, the poet remembers his passionate days of love and writes about the small moments he remembers having spent with the woman he loved. Several ghazals have been written for and about the unattainable muses but none as poignant. I thought it wouldn’t be a bad idea to write a few lines (that I find most beautiful) and translate them into English…maybe you can appreciate it as much as I do!

Chupke Chupke raat din aansoo bahana yaad hai

Humko ab tak aashqui ka vo zamana yaad hai…

(I remember those tears shed day and night in secrecy

I still remember the days of our love…)

Dopahar ki dhup me mere bulane ke liye

Vo tera kothe pe nange paav aana yaad hai…

(In the heat of the mid-day sun, just to call me

I remember you walking over to our patio bare feet…)

Berukhi ke sath sun-na dard-e-dil ki daastan

Vo kalai me tera kangan ghumana yaad hai…

(I remember how dispirited, you would listen to the stories that caused me heart-aches

I remember how you twirled that bangle around your wrist…)

Gair ki nazron se bachkar sabki marzi ke khilaf

Vo tera chori chhupe raaton ko aana yaad hai…

(Against the wishes of all and without being spotted by them

I remember you secretly coming to visit me each night…)

Waqt-e-rukhsat alvida ka lafz kehne ke liye

Vo tere sukhe labon ka thar-tharana yaad hai…

(When the time came for us to say good bye

I remember how your parched lips trembled…)

I think the last couplet is my favourite. I am not too proud of these translations. Translations never ever do the original emotions justice! Maybe you should listen to this recording of one of the concerts of Khan sahab on YouTube to appreciate the music, if the words don’t reach out to you because of language barriers!

Have a peaceful day/night…

I am still listening to this…

8 thoughts on “Chupke Chupke”

  1. This made me very nostalgic. Ghulam Ali is my all time favourite. Chupke Chupke is a lovely ghazal. I really miss all this which was a great & simple way of enjoying life. Reading & Music are two things which one should tightly keep embraced to have simple unpolluted joy for ever.
    Your translation is very good & conveys very well the essence of the ghazal. Well done.
    KSR

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for the kind words. And yes I am a huge fan of the man myself and his poetry transports me into a world so unadulterated that I never want to come back to reality. Unfortunately people don’t enjoy our appreciate ghazals anymore and are moving towards other forms of music that lack the thought that was put into songs like these.
      I’m glad you found my translation worthy! I find it very difficult to do justice to urdu, but I gave it a shot anyway. 🙂

      Like

  2. Why can’t modern music embrace these sentiments?! I couldn’t understand a word he said, but I enjoyed it none the less 🙂 thankyou for your translation too. I’m loving the snatches of your life on your blog! So different to my own 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks so much 🙂 yes, I can understand the language barrier but music does reach out nevertheless! I completely agree about the different lives we’ve got. One of the reasons I started loving blogging is because I could know about so many new people and their lives. I’m so glad to have bumped into you here… 🙂 I look forward to you writing more and I look forward to knowing more about how things are at your end 🙂 cheers…

      Like

    1. Language barrier is a real thing but through my translations, I am trying to in my small way make the beauty of Urdu and Hindi and other regional languages available to the rest off the world.
      Thank you for stopping by! Hope you enjoyed Chupke Chupke.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Language expression makes the difference to whole dilect. Urdu is beautiful sweet language spoken internationally. Listeng Ghazals, Geet are enjoyed that has lasting effects on our soul and feelings. I hope keep communicating.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

