Prose? Poetry? Don't know!, Thoughtful..., Uncategorized

Elegant Sight

Belinda, who writes at busymindthinking posted a few pictures clicked by her son Ethan for his photography class here. With her permission, I borrowed this beautiful picture for this post. Ethan, you are a genius 🙂 Hope you have a fantastic journey as a photographer…

With the autumn sun burning my skin, I feel barren within. The hues of the Sky bathe me blue while I stare at it, naked and baring my emotions. I’d like a moment of calm to look at myself, to witness the lost beauty and the absence of the greens I flaunted, not long ago, with sheer delight.

I breathe…I inhale my shame. I swallow…and I swallow my embarrassment. I cry…I cry out my disgrace. Having lost my sheen with those withered leaves, I fear that no one will remember the beauty that once adorned this bare twig.

I look around…I see no soul. I stand alone, counting the number of blue mornings before spring shows. I pray…I pray with my heart and soul, to not be forgotten, for them to not let go…for them to stop by me and tease me, by plucking my leaves and indulging my excitement as they do so.

And by a miracle, one of them stops by. He takes a look at me and I see a gleam in his eye. With a smile, he captures a picture of me. I have been captured for the rest of the world to see. And I am reminded by a simple boy, that the beauty is in his eye. And not in my shameful being, nor my naked thoughts, he saw what his eyes sought.

A lonely tree against the beautiful sky, I made for a picture an Elegant Sight!

Picture Credit: Ethan (look for more here).

36 thoughts on “Elegant Sight”

    1. Thank you so much. Honestly I don’t know too much about styles of writing, neither prose nor poetry. I just put my thoughts on paper (well, these days, on the blog!) and that’s that. When I was writing this post, I didn’t know if I intended to make it sound like prose or poetry. But I’m glad you think it turned out well. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by. Your comment means a lot to me. Also, due credits to Ethan for clicking that beautiful picture to accompany my simple words.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Great piece. Would be fascinating to see the result ‘if’ you should re-formulate the piece. I think re-formatting it would enhance its appeal. 😉 Hugs! ❤

        Like

      2. I think I like that prose and poetry have united in this piece and one cannot tell them apart. I noticed after I finished writing that this has happened and I’d like to retain the confusion 😀 Cheers

        Like

    1. How sweet Belinda. I don’t know what to say. I hoped you would like it 🙂 And YES to the re-blog for sure…Do let me know if Ethan thinks it’s good enough to accompany his picture. 🙂 cheers…

      Like

  1. Wow! This is one of the best prose-like poetry (or is it poetry-like prose :)) I have ever come across… The best part was how you expressed yourself, reading it was like reliving it (no, I don’t swing that way ;))… The picture is great, but the literature did one better!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

