Thoughtful..., Uncategorized

Dear Pa

Since today is Father’s Day, I was looking at some of these gifts for dads on the internet (isn’t it the new trend to buy everything online?) and here are the top 5 picks for this season (along with their uber cool descriptions but minus the brands!).

  1. Watches – for the Dapper Dads
  2. Star Juicer – for the Fit Dads
  3. 8-Piece Whiskey Set – for the Sophisticated Dads
  4. Baller Suitcase – for the Frequent Flier Dads
  5. Beard trimmer – for the Rugged Dads

Hmm…Interesting, isn’t it?

How is any of this suitable for my dad? My dad is probably not any of these type. Dapper yes, but he doesn’t wear watches. Fit yes, but he already has a juicer. Sophisticated yes, but he definitely wouldn’t find a use for a Whiskey set (maybe a good Whiskey but he’s not the one to obsess about the set!). Frequent flier – well not as of now, but I hope he becomes one soon. Rugged? Nope. He shaves every day. Period. My father is not the gift-accepting type. Nor is he the visibly-happy-on-receiving-gifts type.

My dad is the following type…

  1. Sits me down to have grown up conversations. Always treated me like an adult even when I was a baby. I’ve probably contributed to financial decisions even before I knew the meaning of the word!
  2. Encourages me to do my best and ensures that he knows better about my abilities than I do myself.
  3. Calls to ask if things are okay with me if he senses that I haven’t been sounding ‘normal’ on the phone!
  4. Used to read a lot but gave up on that to spend time with family. He does enjoy a book once in a while, but not as much as he did before!
  5. Has incredible amount of self discipline and will. He mended his back with yoga when the doctors said that he’ll never recover from the injury. He now teaches yoga to a few willing students (all above the age of 40) in the society for free.
  6. Holds my hand with the same warmth and affection as he did when I was a toddler. Though I am all grown up and can make my decisions, he loves just being able to help. And I love that about him.
  7. Is always willing to embrace me and shield me from the rest of the world, no matter how old I am or how independent I am.
  8. Is more proud of my small achievements than he has ever been of himself.
  9. Is willing to listen to my rants and ramblings when everyone else thinks I have lost my mind.
  10. Called me his best friend when I was barely two years old. And he still calls me that! 🙂

I don’t know what the right kind of gift for my father would be…

The strongest pillar of strength, he’s the kind of man I have always wanted to be and he’s the kind of person I will want my children to grow up into (when I have them!!! :P).

He’s the kind of father who grew up with me…and for that I’m ever grateful!

Love you Pa….

– Daddy’s Little Girl!

45 thoughts on “Dear Pa”

      1. Thank you for your beautiful words! I hold your comments very close to my heart 🙂
        Wish you a very Happy Father’s Day as well 🙂 you’ve been a Godfather and a guardian to me always and for that I’m ever grateful… Have a peaceful Sunday!

        Like

    1. Wow that means so much to me 🙂 thank you diksha, you’ve made my day more beautiful with your kind words!
      Happy Father’s day to all the lovely dads out there… Doesn’t take much to be a father but it takes a lot to be a dad 🙂

      Like

      1. I’m sorry for your loss. I wish you had more time with him… But every time you watch a movie I’m sure he comes and sits next to you with his popcorn 🙂

        Like

    1. Well we live in different cities so a virtual hug for sure!!! 🙂
      Wish you a very happy father’s day too Bushka 🙂 thank you for pausing here and taking a moment to write your comment!
      Have a lovely Sunday 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. A beautiful post for your dad! He reminds me of the dad from To Kill A Mockingbird. I remember that he talked to his children like adults and was a very good father. I think your words showed your love better than a material gift could have! Wonderful post 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow Serena, so good to have you here! And thank you for taking a moment to pen this beautiful comment 🙂 yes, I’ve had the most beautiful relationship with my father and I’m glad I could acknowledge it through the post! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Such a touching tribute to your dad! I hope he reads this post and if he does, I am certain he will feel very proud of you 😀 Those are great Dad gifts there, all very practical. He is such an inspiring figure – healing his back with yoga against the odds and these days helps others get back on their feet like he did. A very generous heart there.

    My dad is quite similar to your dad in that he likes to shield me from the bad things and hardships of the world. He always offers to buy me food and take me out shopping 😀 I always say no. I am an adult now and can buy my own way and my dad deserves to rest and enjoy his life now that I am all grown up…but I am sure he still wants me to be a part of it 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is such a wonderful ode to your Father. I, too struggled to figure out a gift for my Dad. Nothing I saw advertised quite seemed to suit him. Dads can be so difficult to shop for. There is no gift in the world that can express my gratefulness and love for my Dad, and I’m sure you feel much the same. Just remember, you’re the greatest gift he could ask for!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What an endearing thing to say 🙂 I think fathers are the best thing that can happen to daughters 🙂
      Thank you so very much for pausing here and sharing your thoughts with me! I really appreciate you taking out the time for this! Lots of love to you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Such a wonderful tribute. A gentle reminder of the silent, unspoken love that dads usually aren’t given credit for. I was always a little jealous of my dad’s extra affection towards my sister, but now it all makes sense. Keep up the beautiful writing

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for visiting me here and for taking a moment to write this beautiful comment 🙂
      I’m glad you could connect with the post. Dads are always nice to daughters but I can’t say if they are partial 😉 I don’t have siblings so I’m a lucky soul…
      Have a good day/night! Looking forward to checking out your space 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

