Thoughtful..., Uncategorized

Stare Right Back. What do you See?

“He noticed her. And she noticed, and kept on noticing, him.” – Amelia Mangan

“You can’t cross the sea merely by standing and staring at the water.” – Rabindranath Tagore

“Seeing bored-looking fans staring at you while you DJ is about as horrible as it gets.” – Boy George

“I was getting old, man. I was staring 27 in the face.” – Charlie Bell

“I can’t stop staring at my beautiful new baby.” – Abbey Clancy

A stare could mean many a things.

*****

I was in my car…my father drove around, maneuvering the crazy Indian traffic (if you’ve been to India, you know what this means!). There was a bus that just crossed our path. And a woman sat inside it, with a kid on her lap.

I looked at her once. She looked at me too. I glanced at something else for a fraction of a second. But there was something in her stare that had caught my attention earlier and I was forced to look in her direction again. We looked into each other’s eyes for the entire duration that the bus intercepted our way.

I noticed nothing else. I don’t know the colour of her hair or the colour of her clothes. I don’t know what she was wearing. I don’t know whether the kid on her lap looked at me or at her or was busy doing whatever it was that interested him/her. I don’t know if she was a village belle or a modern fashionista. I don’t know if she was a fair lady or a dusky beauty. I don’t know if she looked rich or poor. I don’t know if her lips curled up to smile at me or she held a frown instead. I know nothing (I know you must have thought of Jon Snow the moment you read those words)!

All I knew was what the eyes said. I read her eyes as she read mine. A strange desperation, a longing, that melancholy, as if pleading for something, as if nervous about something, a worry, a state of helplessness! I read hers. What did she read in my eyes?

And the stare has stayed with me ever since.

Picture Credit: National Geographic 125 iconic photographs

29 thoughts on “Stare Right Back. What do you See?”

  1. Interesting….your observation makes me believe that every moment is precious and it beholds some understanding which may help you in your life or may stay with you as a happy or sad memory..wonderful observation…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Me too!!! Or maybe not. I can’t decide. There’s a certain amount of beauty in not knowing her story and yet my curious mind would just like to know it anyway…
      Thank you for your beautiful comment…lots of love to you ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Eyes say so much!! I accidentally happened to stare into hers and found so much meaning in it…
      It’s funny how it’s been quite a while since this happened, but that moment still haunts me!
      Thanks for stopping by Jackie! ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The best conversations are the ones of eye contacts rather than any other ..it’s difficult to know what the person says if you don’t know the person but once you start knowing then words actually don’t matter …good you had this experience as well…πŸ˜ŠπŸ‘πŸ»

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well yes conversations through eyes have happened to me many a times with people I know, and like you rightly put they are easy to read when you know someone! This was a strange but welcome experience… I enjoyed those few moments of exchange of thoughts!
      Thanks for stopping by ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for paying me a visit Katherine! It’s lovely to hear from you.
      And I’m glad you enjoyed reading this one. Whatever it is that’s melancholic in your life right now, I hope it sorts itself out soon! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sorted itself out today! All is well and on the track I desire. I enjoyed this piece, as it prompted me to solve the dilemma. I look forward to reading more from you soon. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I have had this experience several times! it is very intriguing. A true mystery and often mesmerising! It is even more unnerving when I get it from cats! One day I was sweeping and swabbing the home and one cat stared at me most surprised! The photo you used for this blog is so magnificent!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for stopping by! Yes it had happened to me many times too. And most times the stare haunts me for a while…
      Oh stare from a cat, sounds so intriguing! I wonder what she wanted to say…

      Like

Leave a Reply

