If We Were Strolling Together

If we were Strolling Together (12)

Been a while since we caught up with each other eh? Let’s go for a stroll today. Now the weather here is not that great, so how about we go for a stroll along the George Bridge and up to the National Museum? On a grey day like this, the bustle of that little area cheers me up.

Since we met last, quite a lot has happened in my life. The big talk I was preparing for did happen. And it went rather well. And when I asked J whether he liked my talk, he smiled and said, “It’s no surprise anymore that your talks are good. I expected nothing else.” Huge compliment. A decade ago, or even just 5 years ago, I was a nervous speaker. An audience scared me to no end. I couldn’t imagine standing in front of a crowd and being able to do a 2 minute announcement, let alone an hour long talk. But today, I have to admit that I am very comfortable with this. In fact, I like talking to an audience. And I enjoy being heard. And I say this with no condescension. I suppose the awareness that you are a good speaker only adds to the confidence when you address an audience. And I am glad I am aware in that sense. Also, soon after that talk, I went to a symposium to present my work with a poster. That went rather well too. And I heard several other interesting talks, the most interesting being that of a historian – Hattie Lloyd, about whom you must have read in a previous post calledΒ Davy’s Audience.

I am back to my routine with yoga and books and movies and work, now that the two big deadlines have passed. But I have two more deadlines in August. I am defending my work in a yearly evaluation process on August 18th and then presenting my work in another conference starting August 23rd!! A PhD is essentially jumping from one deadline to another. And between deadlines, squeezing as much work as you can. But it is fun when you like your work.

I have found a new hot chocolate brand that I have come to love! It’s called Peanut Hottie. And it makes the creamiest peanut butter hot drink I have had in my life so far! And the bottle it is packed in, says – “Take me home…Love, your – Peanut Hottie x”. How cute! If you are a fan of peanut butter…this is definitely your drink!

I also took a weekend trip to Berwick upon Tweed and Lindisfarne with D and really enjoyed myself. It was the kind of break that rejuvenates you instead of tiring you down. I hate coming back from holidays tired and half-dead. Berwick has beautiful beaches and a wide variety of stones too – sea glass, agates, carnelians…you name it! I literally carried a bag of stones back with me (and have already gifted many of those to friends). Here’s a picture from Berwick for you…

IMG_20170702_104042586

I have to also mention that Berwick is very under rated! It has a lot to offer – beaches, art, history…it is perfect for a short break. if you are in the UK and are looking for a quiet break, you might want to consider this option. πŸ™‚

Well that’s mostly what’s been going on in this part of the world. I hope things are well with you. What have you been up to? What was your most recent break and where was it to?

21 thoughts on “If we were Strolling Together (12)”

  1. Hello Aishwarya.
    Well done on your public speaking!
    Oh, what a beautiful photo. You look very relaxed πŸ™‚
    I am currently on a break and am in Sheffield, and staying with my sister and her boyfriend. I always love coming back home England for a holiday, especially in the summer, as people seem happier πŸ™‚
    Take care
    Carly

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Carly! How lovely to know you are only a few hundred miles away! I hope you are having a good time on your break πŸ™‚
      Thank you for stopping by here, it’s always so nice to hear from you. Summers in the UK are definitely beautiful, on good days that is πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh thank you Carly for the nomination! I have received this award before and so this time I’ll only do your questions for fun. But I’m very touched that you thought of me for the nomination πŸ™‚

        Like

  2. Aishwarya, if we were strolling together I would tell you that all that PHD work is amazing and hopefully you are proud of yourself for your hard work! I would tell you that I have never heard of a peanut butter hot drink? I’m wondering if the US has it? Also your beach photo is lovely, as well as your writing and posts. Take care and blessings to you! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Many thanks for joining me on this stroll. And I’d never heard of a peanut hot drink either but this was a big discovery πŸ™‚
      I think I am slightly proud of where I find myself today. I’m learning a lot and it is a steep curve but a very enjoyable journey, thanks to some amazing friends πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. It is not always easy to get up in front of people. Most people are petrified. I’ve been on stage for so long, mostly music – or dancing when i was younger – that it is easy when you get past the fear. I happen to like to talk! When my book is done and I have a little less on my plate I want to lecture on prisons and the parts of life that is affected by it. There are so many family members in addition to those inside.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for finding your way to my space and also for pausing to leave a comment. You have very noble intent and I hope you can make a difference to many lives through your lectures πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

